Chocolate Obsession


Remember the scene in Finding Nemo where Dory and Marlin are fighting over the diver’s mask in front of Bruce, the great white shark?  Marlin lets go and it bonks Dory in the nose.  Her nose starts to bleed and Bruce inhales the aroma bringing a massive smile to his face?  “Oh yeah…” he beams.

The other night I popped into my workshop to fetch a drink from the fridge while watching some TV.  That’s when I noticed it.  Perched on the counter was a fancy box of chocolates.  I looked closer.  Bailey’s Original Irish Cream chocolates.

Hmm… I wonder what these are doing here?  We don’t just buy chocolates without a reason.  Let’s see… it’s not Christmas.  Hallowe’en is too far away and besides, who gives out liqueur chocolates on Hallowe’en (hmm perhaps we should?).  Any special occassions coming up.  None that I could think of.  I thought for a few moments about ripping into the box and enjoying.  But then my conscience got the better of me.  I’d better find out what these were for.  After asking my wife, it turns out that they were for taking to a dinner party some three weeks in the future.  How on earth is this box of chocolates going to sit, untouched for that long?  If you don’t know me very well, I am obsessed with chocolate.  If I know it’s in the house I can’t stop thinking about it until it’s in my mouth and I’m in my happy place.

And then to my amazement my wife says that if I want to open that box, go ahead and she’ll pick up another one as she’s sure she’ll be to Costco before the dinner party anyway.  “Oh yeah…” I grinned.  For a moment I became Bruce with a smile so large the corners of my mouth extended beyond the sides of my face.  I’m sure my socks were smoking after I raced down the stairs into the workshop.  Ten seconds later, the box was sitting beside me on the couch and I was in my happy place.  Mmmmm.
About brianwawryk
PMP and Prince2 certified project manager.

Leave a Reply

