Rest in Peace, My Friend


 

This past week I lost a dear and close friend.  I’ve known and been very close with this friend for over 30 years, since I was a little boy.  My friend comforted me and supported me throughout all of these years.  Now I’m left trying to find a replacement.  And it may be a long road ahead to find an adequate substitute.

“Replace a friend?” you’re asking?  “Substitute?  You heartless low life!”

Now before you think I’m “Shallow Pal,” let me explain something to you.  You see, my friend is, well, my pillow.  Yes, the pillow I used since I was a child was ripped out from under my head late last week.  It’s quite a horrific story and I’m sure you’re dying to hear it.

You see, this particular pillow was the perfect size, thickness and provided just the right support when I rolled up the end to lay on my side.  Most other pillows I’ve come across in the past while staying at hotels and friends’ places were either flat as a pancake, too full and puffy or just not the right consistency to provide me with a good night’s sleep.

Why was the pillow ripped out from under my head?  Well, my wife has been suffering with allergies for the past two and a half years.  She’s been to a Naturopath, is in the process of doing acupuncture and has been to an allergist.  It was this recent visit to the allergist that she underwent more tests for allergies.  She found out that she is very allergic to cats, somewhat to dogs (which isn’t good as we have two dogs), and… wait for it… feathers.  Yes, my pillow was a feather pillow.  A 30-something year old feather pillow.  Who the H-E-double hockey sticks asked the allergist to test her to see if she was allergic to feathers?

My wife suspected as much a while ago but wasn’t tested for it until last week.  That’s when the pillow was banished from our bedroom, leaving me high and dry to sleep on a substandard cushion.  It’s quite the adjustment.  The first night it took me literally 30 minutes or so to fall asleep.  Normally I’m out within 5 so this is a big deal for me!  Then I proceeded to wake up multiple times, tossing and turning, trying to fold the pillow in just the right way to properly support my cranium.  All the while laying beside my wife, listening to her breathing fairly clearly.  Well, ain’t that dandy… she’s sleeping better and now it’s me who can’t.  The second night was slightly better but I still didn’t get a great night’s rest.

Well, it’s been almost a week and I’m starting to get used to the inferior head rest, but this particular pillow is still too thick for laying on my back.  (I shouldn’t be able to see my toes when laying on my back!)

Just this morning my wife threw the pillow in the garbage and as I was hauling the trash bag to the curb, a tear trickled down my cheek.  Good-bye old friend.

We’ll see how it goes, but I may be out pounding the pavement (or the snow banks, as the weather dictates) in a quest to find a non-feather pillow that feels like and acts like a real feather pillow without all of it’s sneezy goodness.

Wish me luck.  It could be a long road ahead with many sleep deprived nights.

About brianwawryk
PMP and Prince2 certified project manager.

2 Responses to Rest in Peace, My Friend

  1. Ed says:

    Well it looks like you are going to have to take one for the team and grind it out. The things we have to do to be happy. Good luck.

    Did Mr. Pillow talk to Mr. Jacket before he hit the curb? Hopefully not because you will now have a conspiracy on your hands.

  2. Barbara @ Just Another Manic Mommy says:

    sorry for your loss 🙂
    I’m a huge allergy sufferer too (I get shots) and I also have to avoid feathers. I got my husband one of those memory foam pillows and he LOVES it.

Leave a Reply

