Is it Golf Season Yet?


 

Winters in Winnipeg are long and cold. Not a great place to live for a golf enthusiast such as myself. I’ve been golfing for 25 years but have really taken it to the next level in the last year or so. Addiction is such a strong word, but I suppose that’s what it’s called when you think about it almost every hour of every day.

What do I like about it so much? There’s lots to like. First, I love being outdoors, in beautiful surroundings. Golf is perhaps the only sport on the planet that puts you outdoors and on nicely landscaped land. Big trees, beautifully mowed grass, gleaming ponds. Beautiful.

Second, I love the challenge. When I first started, like almost everyone who just starts golf, it was a very tough sport to do well in. I started when I was 13 and couldn’t hit a drive longer than 150 yards. That made the par 4 and par 5’s pretty much impossible to reach in regulation (reach in 2 shots on par 4’s and 3 on par 5’s). However, as I practiced and played more and more, I gained distance and those longer holes became reachable, making the game much more fun. I find it exhilerating when you have a putt for a birdie.

Third, it’s a game you can play by yourself if no one else is available. For instance, I took my clubs to Cancun this winter and played 18 by myself at the Hilton Golf Club. It was still a great time.

Hilton Golf Club, Cancun

Fourth, golf is a game that you can never perfect. No matter how much you practice, you will always make a blunder here or there. But the challenge is to recover from your missed shots and try to salvage a good score. I mean, even pros practice continually and we still see poor shots every now and again.

As I mentioned in my post entitled Why Twitter is Depressing Me, I follow professional golfers on Twitter to gain a view into their daily routines and experiences. I really see how busy they are with playing practice rounds, pro-ams, tournaments, practicing, sponsorship meetings, photo shoots, taping commercials, attending charity events, etc. This has only fueled my anticipation for the golf season in Manitoba to start. The Masters tournament is only 3 weeks away which is the official beginning of the golf season for me.

I’ve joined the Men’s Golf League this year at Bridges Golf Course with a neighbour of mine this year and a guy from my hockey team. I’m very much looking forward to getting out on a regular basis, even though it is only 9 holes every Monday night.

In preparation for this year’s golf season, I downloaded an app for my iPhone called Golfshot GPS.  It allows you to score your rounds, view statistics, determine distance of each shot to a number of points on each hole, and it provides aerial views of each hole.  And the best thing was that there were a lot of courses in Manitoba which have already been mapped out with Golfshot.  I’m looking forward to knowing exactly how many yards any particular shot actually is.

Ideally I would love to play 3 or 4 times per week but house upkeep, family, and work commitments keep that to once a week, if I’m lucky. This year though, I vow to practice more. More driving range work, more short game work and more putting. I want to have confidence when shooting out of a bunker knowing that I can knock it out and close to the pin every time. That comes with practice.

Normally my average round is about 85. I want to get that down to 80 this year. I’ve broken 80 a few times in my life, even shooting a 2 over par 73 once. So I know I have it in me, it’s just the ability to stay consistent and confident.

So come on spring! Get here so I can pull out the clubs. I’m ready for the challenge.

About brianwawryk
PMP and Prince2 certified project manager.

Leave a Reply

